top of page

Happy National Running Day!🏃🏃‍♀️💨


Ankeny, IA


Today - We are GRATEFUL for the ability to run.



Hello, Hello!


Happy National Running Day to all! It's been a while since I've blogged but I just HAD to take ADVANTAGE of the ONE day of the year where running is nationally celebrated to reflect on the impact running has made on our lives and the lives of others.


If you, yourself are a runner - ask yourself this question: WHY DO YOU RUN?


 

What is your why?



Autumn's picture she snapped while on a morning run!

It's my favorite way to exercise - especially when I get to be outside and soak up the beauty of mother nature. It gives me time to think and to temporarily escape life's stressors. I love that I get to choose how far and how fast I want to go and I really enjoy trying different routes. I am so thankful that I have the ability to run.

-Autumn



I ultimately run to get away from everything. After all, isn't the definition of running "to get away?" It's a great way for me to take time for myself where I can be lost in my own thoughts and focus on something that will benefit me in the long "run." ;) - Adam (who's gotten punnier..)




"Embrace the incline. It is not the downhills that make you stronger." - Paul Richardson

Why do I run?


I run for the challenge. Running is hard. I love the sense of accomplishment that comes with finishing a good-ole-7-miler on a scorcher of a day.


I also like it because it helps me clear my head of my constantly anxious thoughts that never seem to leave me alone. Running has truly given me the gift of perspective. I'm able to refocus my attention on the areas of my life that are most important that otherwise get kicked beneath mounds of worry, exhaustion, and self-doubt.


Though there are many reasons I love to run, the greatest joy comes from adding intention behind my miles.


Take a half marathon for example. Sometimes, my intention behind the race is to ultimately finish. Other times, I'm reaching for that PR. Still, others running alongside me have intentions of their own. Some are running to prepare for a full marathon while others are striving for a top 10 finish in their age group. Whatever it is, putting purpose behind your run adds value which in turn brings about greater fulfillment.


As many of you know, my siblings and I have been given the opportunity to run The Bank of America's Chicago Marathon this fall on behalf of Alex's Lemonade Stand Foundation. An incredible organization geared towards making advances in childhood cancer research and getting families the resources they need in order to have access to the best treatment plans possible for their young ones.


Thanks to our friends and family, we have met our fundraising goal of 3,750 dollars and are officially registered for the race! We are SO incredibly grateful to all who donated to our cause, prayed on our behalf, and joined our efforts to raise awareness on childhood cancer.


 


 

With the race still being 4 months away, we have set new goals for ourselves in hopes that we can find innovative ways to continue raising support throughout the summer months! Because today is National Running Day, we are kicking off our "Making My Miles Matter" challenge where Adam, Autumn, and I have agreed to stash away 1 quarter for every mile we run this month to add purpose and motivation behind our training runs. In being more intentional with our miles, we hope to be reminded of the kids we are running for who are fighting for their lives day in and day out.


If you or someone you know likes to run, we would love for you to join us in this endeavor! All you need to do is put away a quarter, dollar, etc. for every mile you run throughout June! And if running just isn't your thing - NO WORRIES. You can apply this challenge to any outdoor activity (swim, bike, walk, etc.) as long as there's distance involved! Any amount raised by the end of the month would make a huge impact on our fundraising effort to cure childhood cancer, one mile at a time.


 

Run often. Run long. But never outrun your joy of running.


 

If you have any questions about our fundraising team or are interested in participating in our Making My Miles Matter challenge - please feel free to reach out or click on the links below!


And please, don't forget to find some time today to get that run in! Because if you're too busy to find time to run, then you're simply too busy! ;)


Alex's Lemonade Stand Foundation:


Team CAN fundraising page:







47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page